Who knew Cloth Napkins could be so COOL!!!

So in our efforts to become more green, reduce our waste, etc… we *read: I, with a little hestitancy from hubby* have decided to switch to cloth napkins.  I made a set of 6 last week from some old stashed zebra pattern flannel and we used them tonight for the first time.  

The kids could/would not stop going on about how cool they were, how soft it was to wipe your mouth with…  “they fit right in my lap”.. hehe…  They were thoroughly excited when I told them I was going to make more from the leftovers from all the flannel pj pants I sewed them!!  OMGosh you would have thought I told them Christmas was coming early this year!! hehe, gotta love it!

So here are the napkins. 

 

There are 15 total here in this picture.  But I laid them out just to show the different prints. So with our CURRENT family of 5 this will last us 3 days.  And I made 6 last week, so we have enough for 4 days, if we are just home and using them for SUPPER. 😀

Here are the 2 car seat head support/pads I finished today as well for Baby Girl. LOVE them!!

Here are some Handdyed Bamboo Velour Fitted Diapers I finished for a Bottombumpers customer of mine, Misty!! 

And here is a picture of me in a shirt my friend Kate Silk Screened for me.. She designs the graphics herself and screens them in here home.  She has a business called Good Karma Commune which she stocks at Eclectic Earth and sometimes at Retro Femme with me!

In case you cant read it, it says “mama” on it.  My youngest asked me today what it said and I told him and I had fun asking him to repeat it and hearing him say it.. it was so SWEET!!!  He has this southern accent I am not sure where he got it from, lol.  And it sounds so sweet like “maw-maw”  My heart is full!!! 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Who knew Cloth Napkins could be so COOL!!!”

  1. wondermommy Says:

    I love the cloth napkins, great idea!

  2. Ula Says:

    You’re so productive! At that stage of my pregnancies I just wanted to sit around. 🙂

  3. Loving your stuff Says:

    First of all, I LOVE your work! All of the items you make look amazing, and top quality.
    My family and I started using cloth napkins right after Christmas time and haven’t looked back! They are so convenient to use and I love not having to worry about running out of napkins (previously a common occurrence). Also I found that I can sometimes use one napkin for more than a meal. Mine are all boring off-white though, not pretty like yours. Will you ever sell napkins in your store?

  4. Stacy T Says:

    i have considered selling them in my Apple Tree Store or my Patchyapple/etsy store.. but right now with the babe due and wholesale picking up on my Bottombumpers site.. i have enough going on, lol. 😀 And yes we have used one napkin for more than one meal if it doesnt get real dirty.. and it is also nice to wipe the table up with the napkins after dinner to save a washcloth too! 😀

  5. White Feather Says:

    I know this is an older post, but just wanted to say that I switched to cloth a few months ago, too, and I love them. I bought some fabric to go with my kitchen in stain-hiding prints, but I am going to go looking through my stash for other fabrics so as to not increase my “consumerism.” I’m sure I’ve got stuff that would be fine.

    Also, I (not husband) am using recycled cotton flannel cut up and serged around the edges for cloth “personal wipes” instead of all that toilet paper. Saving money (tons) and feeling good about not buying all that bleached paper, yay! Some people would say it’s taking it too far, but why should anyone else care? I am the only one doing laundry here and no one else has to touch them. I throw them in with the regular laundry and it’s not a big deal.

    I love your choice of fabrics in all the things you make and sell. Good job.

  6. Cutten Says:

    This post reminds me of something my Uncle Rick once said…

    if a sweat shop factory had air conditioning would it still be called a sweat shop?

  7. desert nights online slots Says:

    Whether you contact it blackjack as well as twenty one, you
    will call the idea more pleasurable when you perform blackjack at a great online desert
    nights online slots. It is fascinating for individuals
    who get pleasure from this sort of things to do.

  8. Brea Craig Says:

    Where did you get the pattern for the head supports? I have been scouring the internet trying to find a pattern with no avail 😦

Leave a Reply

