One week NO Television…

So how much time does the average American spend watching television?  From the statitistics I read the average American spends 28 hours per week watching television.  That is 4 hours a day!!   

So we are making a vow to keep the TV off for a WHOLE WEEK.  We started today after church, we vowed to not turn it on, not watch a movie, not check the news on it, not record a show, etc.   We allowed ourselves internet access to check news, weather, and business emails.

The kids (who are almost 10, 8, 4.5 and the innocent 9 month old, lol) naturally say “What WILL WE DO?”  as if the world was ending.  How soon we forget that when my parents were kids TV had just came out.  The picture was awful, there was no color, the shows were limited, the bunny ears had to be adjusted all the time, etc.   My Mom would say “Only the more fortunate families even HAD a television”

Yet in the 21st century, the idea that someone would own a TV but not turn it on for a week or NOT own a TV at all seems “out there”.

So here are a few things we plan to do with our “Week with no Television”:

  1. Play board games
  2. Read that book that you say you will read or you have been reading 1 sentence at a time
  3. The older kids are going to do a Reading CHallenge *read a book, tell us a little about it, write it on a list, then whoever ends up with the most books read wins their choice of a movie rental or gets to pick a place to eat out*  We are going to include the books of the Bible in this so we can incorporate the Bible and God into our silent house time.  Genesis 1 will count as ONE, and so on.
  4. Me and my daughter plan to bake cookies, cupcakes, muffins,etc. and give them away to people in our church, neighborhood, Bible Homegroup, etc.
  5. My 2 sons plan to build that Lego City they have always dreamed of building before the baby gets old enough to pull up to the coffee table and destroy it!
  6. Write letters to their friends.  No not email, but actual letters they will snail mail.  Letters to grandparents, thank you cards
  7. Draw, Paint, Play-doh, Lite Brite, etc..
  8. Play cards
  9. Write out our family goals, plans, budgets
  10. Discuss our lives with each other
  11. Play charades *my kids have NEVER PLAYED, ACK*
  12. Catch up on the housework
  13. Have friends over for supper

So those are just a few things… Will we make it? I sure hope so.  My true hope is that at the end of the week we all arent counting down to turn the TV back on.   Hopefully we will find new ways to bond, be more patient with each other, find time to do the things we have been promising our kids, etc.

If you would like to join in the challenge, you are free to steal this button.   And please post here other suggestions and link me to your blog post about no Television challenge if you plan to join in!!!!

notv

11 Responses to “One week NO Television…”

  1. Mandi Says:

    I would honestly LOVE to do this, but my husband wouldn’t go for it. And our tv is in the central part of our townhouse, so it’s unavoidable. Maybe I could talk him into a couple days. I mean, we DO have DVR, so it’s not like we’re missing out on anything 😉

  2. Casey Says:

    sounds like a good plan. I know that hubby wouldn’t go for it but I’m sure I could talk him into not turning the tv on until after the kids went to bed. I think it’d be a great thing for my kids, not that they really watch much as it is but we’d get a lot more things done together with zero tv.

  3. kat Says:

    You can do it!! We don’t subscribe to cable, and it allows for so much time not wasted watching TV!! Think of all those hours you could be sewing 🙂

    Good luck, keep busy!

  4. Stacy T Says:

    Well today was quiet, lol.

    We already cancelled our satellite over a year ago. WE get 4 channels with our antennae right now, lol. But even those 4 lonely channels will be missed.

    WE have lots planned for tomorrow including starting Homeschooling back up after a 2 week break!

  5. Ula Says:

    Great idea! My daughter’s school does one of these every April. It’s refreshing. 🙂

  6. sew funky Says:

    We do a month of no tv in December and have done so for about 3 years now. I got tired of all the advertising aimed at my children and so we bit the bullet. That’s not to say we don’t watch DVD’s during that time though… 🙂

  7. cheap dog houses Says:

    Generally I do not post comments on blogs, but I would just like to mention that this article has forced me to do so! Thank you for your perceptive post.

  8. If you get the chance…have your family go one week without television Says:

    […] One Week No Television […]

  9. Dumbbell Set Weights · Says:

    dog houses need not be elegant, it only needs to be a design that makes it easier for us to clean ~:`

  10. Julene Hazell Says:

    Dog houses should be made from natural wood because it tends to go well with dogs. My dog really hates plastic dog house. :”.’,

    Enjoy your weekend!
    http://www.caramoantourpackage.com

  11. George Bailey Says:

    I have not watched live TV for over 4 years. Of the programmes I do watch, about 1/16 of them are newer than last year. The rest are from the 50’s and 60’s, with a few 80’s and 90’s. I watch on average 2hrs a day, and that while eating meals. I do not consider it a waste of time. In my youth, I watched on average 5-6 hours of TV a day, in a colony country, so most of the programmes on our 1 channel were the best UK stuff, with the cream of the US stuff. TV did not start until 5pm, and was off again at 11pm or 12pm. All the TV was entertainment programmes, with a half hour News Bulletin at 8pm. During the day I read or indulged hobbies. I have a very high IQ, or so “they” tell me, and have a very practical mind. I see no reason for a child not to watch TV, especially if its old TV – there is very little of any value in these modern reality programmes – if the parents are responsible and explain any questions the child may have. My suggestion is to buy or rent DVD’s of good old shows and movies from the 30’s up to the current date (I’d highly recommend SF programmes such as Doctor Who, Star Trek and Firefly) and make a feature of TV watching with the kids, you’ll not regret it. By the way, I also read a lot of comics, and although they are really overpriced these days, I’d highly recommend stories by the likes of Neil Gaiman, Alan Moore and Grant Morrison, along with the works of Joss Whedon and J.M. Straczynski. Books by Terry Pratchett top my reading list. Avoid rubbish like Twilight Saga, and this terrible ilk of romantic horror stories. TV watching and reading of any sort is not a waste of time. Besides there is nothing wrong with practicing a hobby (like sewing) while watching a TV show, it might actually teach you multi-tasking.

Leave a Reply

