Crafters Swap for Handmade Holidays..

As many of you probably do, I try to make things that my family wants as special gifts for Christmas.   I have an embroidery machine so I monogram.  I can crochet so I made a few scarves/hats.  I can sew so I give things I have made that they want,etc.

Every year I feel a little limited by my supplies/time/experience.   I know many of you have craft specialties of your own.  I would love to do a large Crafters Swap to swap things we have made between each other so I will have more variety to choose from to gift.  Even if some of the items are small, they can be stocking stuffers.  

Here is how it would work:

  1. Read the guidelines below to see if you qualify
  2. Reply to this blog post with what you can send/make *links are VERY helpful* and what you would love to receive *just to give others ideas of demand, etc.*
  3. Email me at sthomp {at} verizon.net  so you will receive updates, lists of what is being made, what has been requested, etc. in about a week!  Put SUBJECT: Crafters SWAP
  4. Start working on items you see requested that you can make and start making your list of what you see linked that you would like to have
  5. Send your items to me with THIS FORM and $10 for your return shipping package.  I will refund any extra shipping to you. (You can send cash at your own risk, Money orders or send Paypal to stacy {at} appletreeboutique.com with your full name/crafters swap deposit in the subject by 11-25.)
  6. YOUR ITEMS MUST BE POSTMARKED NO LATER THEN NOVEMBER 25th, 2009.  If they are not RECEIVED by DECEMBER 1st, 2009, the sorting will start without you and if it is all sorted, your items may be returned to you.  SO THE EARLIER YOU CAN MAIL THE BETTER!!!!
  7. You will receive items you requested at a value equal to what you sent in.  So if you only send $20 value of items in, you will only receive $20 value back!!!!  Then just Stalk your mail man for your return package full of items. 

Here is a form to send IN YOUR PACKAGE again just in case you missed the link above:  http://www.appletreeboutique.com/crafterswapform.pdf

Guidelines:

  • Must be in the US to participate, sorry mamas packaging /shipping delays/etc outside of US is just too much for me to handle at this time
  • Must be an experienced crafter at what you are sending in.  Please dont decide you will make your first ever SEWN item ever and participate in this swap.  Sorry to the newbies
  • Please be respectful of those allergic to pets/smoke by making sure your items are free of hairs, smells, etc.  Send your items very clean and packaged neatly please.
  • Please send items that you would be happy to receive. 
  • If your item was made with a particular participants request in mind, please make sure to note that somehow. 
  • If you item is a SIZED item, please bag/tie it and attach a description with the size so I will know what size it is.
  • We will do our best to sort out and send you only items you really really wanted, but just by filling in extra items you help us sort things to people that can use them.  So if you have a few babies being born next year in your family, you could always add that you could use newborn items for showers or something.   Please be detailed in your requests and list MANY of them.  We might email you to try to fulfill some value if we have questions and want your approval.

Feel free to invite your friends!  And please rest assured that I will not steal your money or your packages.  I have been in business online for over 5 years.  I run large fabric coops, I do craft shows, I co-own a large diaper making business, etc.  I will make nothing off this swap except receive your lovely items in return for what I send out to you!!!

I am here to help anyone that needs it!  Post questions if you have them or email the questions to me😉

UPDATED List of Items people can send in & items they want to receive:

Requested to receive *if you can make these items, they are WANTED*

  • hair clips/bows
  • Felt food (wool food)
  • Fun bath soaps/melts for kids
  • jewelry *silver, beaded, etc*
  • Wood Toys
  • Stationary
  • Knit Items *boys-4 months/2 years, NOT scarves*
  • chalk mats
  • Pet Items
  • Stocking Stuffers
  • Flannel PJ pants *2T, 5T girly and 5T boyish have been requested*
  • Crocheted/Knitted hats for 9 month, 2year, 5 year girls*

Items that others have said they could send in so far:

  • Doodle bags/cases and crayon rolls
  • Womens D-Ring Belts
  • Drooler Bibs/Burp cloths
  • Find it (I spy) Bags
  • Child aprons
  • Denim overall Tutus
  • Minky Blankets/Loveys
  • GIrls and Adult PUrses, coin purses
  • Sewn Baskets
  • Stationary holders
  • Lace Christmas Ornaments
  • Soaps
  • Earrings
  • Kitchen Hanging Towels
  • Therapy Bags *hot/cold flax filled, etc*
  • Cloth Napkins/Placemats
  • Boxer Briefs for kids?
  • Tote/Library Bags

OK so if you want to post any other details, please do!!

Tags: , , ,

19 Responses to “Crafters Swap for Handmade Holidays..”

  1. Stacy T Says:

    OK as the author of this blog here is what I have to offer: Doodle Bags, Cases, D-ring Belts for adults, bibs/burp cloths, Find it bags, etc. All my pictures are here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/22352530@N04/sets/72157603594180206/

    Swipe it Bag- Max

    I cant do everything pictured as I dont have time to craft alot of the larger items. I can probably fit in some boxer briefs.. they come in sizes 2/3, 4/5 and 6/7.😀

    I would love to see hairclips/bows, felt or wood food(dd is getting a kitchen for christmas), fun bath melts for kids that make bubbles, and I will try to think on this some more as you post😀

  2. Meghan Fearn Says:

    I can offer:
    children/toddler aprons, denim overall tu-tus, minky blankets size 25×25 girl or boy, little girl purses, etc. I have a few pictures at http://www.fearnseth.etsy.com. I will be updating with new pictures sometime in the next couple of weeks.

  3. Meghan Fearn Says:

    Oops! I forgot to add what I would like to see!

    I would love to see some jewelry, body soaps for kids, wooden toys, cute stationary and I also will think of more!

    Thanks!

  4. Esther briggs Says:

    How do you determine the value of an item?

    God bless, Es

  5. Stacy T Says:

    I would place a retail value on it.. What would you pay/sell it for? Hope that helps!
    Stacy

  6. Robin Michaletz Says:

    I can make purses for children and adults. Baskets-sewn for bread and such, stationary holders(for paper, pen, envelopes, I can embroider and personalize items. I don’t have anywhere to post pictures-if someone knows where I can do this free I can post pictures of the items that I can make. I can make christmas ornaments that are free standing lace.

  7. Sandra Laylock Says:

    I have handmade soaps and toiletries. You can view my soaps on my HC
    http://hyenacart.com/onestore.php?vid=3292&category=9 I do have more of each soap than is listed in my store.

    In addition to the soaps in the store, I will have a Christmas Gift Box with 3 soaps: Mint Truffle, Orange Spice, and Pepermint Stick.

    I am looking for Wooden toys for baby and children(especially 2 sword and shield sets) and knitted items for my little boys ages 2 and 4 months.

    Stacy, I would love a belt and matching purse for my daughter and another sister.

    Does anybody have any gifts for guys?My husband doesn’t cosider my soaps a gift anymmore since he can grab one off the shelfanytime.

  8. Sandra Laylock Says:

    Meagan-All of my soaps can by used by kids over 2. The Unscented Goatsmilk is great for kids over 6 month and helps with dry skin and Excema and the Calendula and Sage is great for kids over one and helps with dry skin and rashes. I wouldn’t mind a little girls purse or two.

    Robin-You can post photo’s for free on Photobucket. There’s others too but that’s the one I use.

  9. Meghan Fearn Says:

    Stacy – good idea about $ value. I price my aprons @$15.00 my children purses @$10.00 Tu-Tu’s at $20.00, & minkly blankies @ $20.00

    I also thought I would enjoy seeing some little ones pj pants in fleece or flannel sizes 2T & 5T (mostly girls, maybe one pair of boys), and some of those really cute knit hats that would fit a 2T head, 5T head and 9 month head.

    Sandra – would be interested in a few soap/purse trades!

  10. Esther briggs Says:

    I really, really wants some felt food for my grandchildren….this is my priority request. Would consider soap or handmade basket…

    For trade I have lots of earrings already made..only some are in my post..I can post more if anyone is interested
    Also, have some scarf and hat sets, gift bags, baby blankets, Kitchen haging towels made with micro fiber (great improvement), doilies and rugs for doll houses and adult aprons in a bag….I can custom make any of these provided i get enough lead.
    I also can crochet just about anything…

    http://s297.photobucket.com/albums/mm201/jamesther/Swap/

    (I have some new Trech jackets for guys these of course I did not make but they are great for guys.)

  11. seemommysew Says:

    Hmmm….I can make a lot of the same things and I’m ISO of mostly things no one here can make!🙂 I can make:
    crayon rolls
    therapy bags (for adults, filled with flax, made from cotton and OBV)
    purses- children’s and adults
    simple embroidered items (too time consuming to do involved stuff)
    napkins, placemats: emboidered or applique
    dresses for little girls
    skirts for girls and adults
    pj pants
    boxer briefs
    tote bags/library bags

    ISO:
    wool felt play food
    wooden toys
    supplies: OBV, wool felt, purse frames, waldorf doll supplies, etc.
    prints, calenders, stationary (not scrapbooked, I can and enjoy doing that…from someones own drawings)
    stamped silver jewelry
    knitted items (except scarves)
    screenprinted stuff
    chalk mats

  12. Shelley Bills Says:

    Hello all,
    I can offer activity books for kids (otherwise known as lap books or quiet books) baby/infant blankets, carry ’rounds (loveys), lunch kits, reusable shopping bags & coin purses.

    I am looking for: wine accessories, organic bamboo jammies adult. Wooden toys 4 yo. Hubby & Brother gifts. Stocking stuffers, pet items also.

    Sounds like fun I cant wait!!

  13. Lisa Says:

    I make little children’s wool felt food. If you are local I could make you the pretend kitchen furniture too. I also make little girl hair bows. I have always wanted a crayon roll made with a good fabric. 🙂

  14. Stacy T Says:

    Hey everyone I updated the original post to contain the list of things to make and request!! Everyone is welcome to get started.

    You will need to send/postmark your packages by 11-25, which is 2 weeks from today!!

    Thanks!

  15. arnoldfamily7 Says:

    I make girl hair bows and clippies, flannel blankets, and coffee cozies…and I would like a purse/diaper bag…I am so excited!!! Thanks🙂

  16. Crafters Swap follow up!! « Patchyapple Says:

    […] Swap follow up!! By Stacy T Hey all!   If you are planning to send items in for the “Crafters Swap” below is the list i posted of what people are making and […]

  17. Sandra Laylock Says:

    Hmm, I can’t tell if anyom eis interested in soaps. I won’t send any in unless I see that folks are interested. Please leave a remark if you are.

  18. Stacy T Says:

    There were requests for fun bath soaps for kids.

Leave a Reply

