My advice for cutting/sewing in bulk

As I get ready for shows, I sew my items in BULK.   I used to abhor sewing this way as it seemed you never finished the project the same day, but had piles hanging around for awhile.  But definitely a time saver in the long run!   Here are a few things I have learned along the way!

  • Yes take the time to iron those wovens before you cut your items.  I use the “ruler fold” method of storing my fabrics and so when I unroll them I just unroll as much as I need, iron that end while it is doublefolded and then lay out in a stack.
  • Take time to cut more then one item from the material.   When I am cutting doodle bags and cases, they both require the rotary/ruler and exact cuts.  So while I am cutting a guitar print case I cut a bag too! 
  • If cutting out small items say 5×5 squares or something that need fusible interfacing *I use this stuff for LOTS of items*, fuse a large piece then cut your squares.  Dont cut 5×5’s of the woven then 5×5’s of the fusible fleece then iron each individual square.  It just takes too much time😉
  • When sewing make room for stacks.   Do all one step together.  If you have to zig zag, then turn something then straight stitch it. I would zig zag and toss in the pile/basket the WHOLE STACK.  Then, I would go back and turn them all, then change my stitch and sew them all.
  • And last but not least, it is ok to go ahead and finish one from the pile at 1am just to feel like something got finished before you go to sleep lol!

Enjoy your sewing!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “My advice for cutting/sewing in bulk”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Great advise. Isn’t it funny how we don’t feel as though we accomplished anything unless an item is finished?

  2. Martha B Says:

    Great tips! Thanks

Leave a Reply

