Turning a womens shirt into a toddler dress..

I had been wanting to do this for awhile.  Love the result and so did my 2yo as she wont take it off, lol.  I didnt do a full blown tutorial with measurements and things on this as the size you need will vary and I simply cut around an existing dress we had and liked.  But I imagine that you can do something similar yourself with the few pics I have included to show you what I did 😉

Here is the shirt and dress I am using.  I first laid the dress on top and marked where I wanted to cut the bottom of the shirt off.  I will use the bottom hem later to do a ruffle on the bottom.  So i cut it about 5″ shorter then what i wanted to leave room for the ruffle. Then I matched the front neck line of the dress up with the front T-shirt neckline.  Tuck your sleeves in at the seams and trace about 1/2″ away from the outline of the dress.

Cut one half then fold over and match your lines the best you can:

Then do the back neckline, fold in the sleeves.

Then I matched the sleeve up on the finished edge, traced about 1/2″ away from the neckline, folded back the sleeve seam and traced it all out.  I then stacked the 2 sleeves on top of each other when I cut them so they would be identical.

The rest I didnt capture pics of but here is a run down of what I did :

  • turned the neckline edge of the sleeves under 1/4″ and zig zagged them both
  • Matched up the sleeves with the back pieces and serged, then serged the other side to the front side.  I went ahead and serged all the way to the end of the front/back pieces even though the sleeves are shorter on my dress.  I will show you this later.
  • Threaded all my serged threads back into the seams on the necline.
  • Then I sewed up the SIDES of the body of the dress.
  • Cut the bottom of the shirt that was leftover earlier into the ruffle.  I ruffled the edge and then serged it to the bottom of the dress matching up the side seams of the dress I made and the shirt.

Then I tucked under the leftover underarm edges like this and sewed them down:

I took 1/4″ elastic and placed it on the inside of the top of the sleeve and zig zagged it on to make the neck gather on the sleeve tops:

VIOLA, you are done 😀

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Turning a womens shirt into a toddler dress..”

  1. Lynds Says:

    What an innovative idea! I’ll have to give this a try.

  2. Leslie Says:

    That is ridiculously adorable! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Trail's Crafts Says:

    Cute dress!

  4. mickey Says:

    Great idea and nicely done! She’s adorable!

  5. Adrienne Says:

    Clever and frugal.

  6. katiejean Says:

    this is so cute! I would get such a kick out of making this for my girl!

Leave a Reply

