Over run by “stuff”

So lately I have come to the realization that something needs to be done about the overrun of “stuff” at our house.   There are tons of things we keep “because we might need/use them someday” that get moved from place to place to place.. only to never be needed. 

Then there is the issue of the kids toys, old dishes, clothes that dont fit anymore, and then I also run businesses out of my home that have taken over lots of my square footage, lol.

So I am taking some steps to free our family of our “Stuff”.  Today I will:

  • clean my bedroom
  • pack away the things we dont use daily into boxes and move them into the attic

I would then love to start on the kitchen and living room next.   Wish me luck freeing us.  But it needs to be done… i feel so “trapped” and “surrounded” and it is keeping me from thinking clearly or working efficiently. 

If anyone has made a major cleanout, lifestyle change, simplification like this I would love to hear about it!!!

5 Responses to “Over run by “stuff””

  1. Holly Says:

    When we moved 3500 mi away, we had to go through everything and get rid of probably 50% of our stuff. It actually was quite freeing! I’ve found that so much of that ‘stuff’ I didn’t really need. And wow, housekeeping in our new place has been a snap! And I can find things when I need them.

    What I did was have a garbage can, then box/bag/tote whatever works for you for the following categories:
    1) Keep in house to USE–it MUST have a ‘home’ to be put away into
    2) Storage
    3) Donate
    4) Giveaway to friends
    5) Ebay/Craigslist/garage sale

    I made sure that only about half or less was in the KEEP category!! If I wasn’t TRULY going to use it within about a year, then it cannot go in the storage category (things here would be seasonal clothing, older kids clothing for younger kids–only the really nice stuff, holiday decorations, school supplies, etc.) Donate–this was a HUGE category for me as we figured out that we didn’t have time for a garage sale. If you can reasonably get one in, then put most all this in category 5. Then once you’re done w/ the sale, donate most everything else. Resist the temptation to put it back into the house!

    If you have a space you an use as a staging ground–garage, car port, extra room….then do that! It will help keep things sorted while you work.

  2. Leslie Says:

    A few months ago I did basically what Holly did; went through everything and decided what to keep and what to get rid of. It was one of the most freeing experiences I’ve had. We tried to keep things in the house only if we needed them and used them regularly, and then kept seasonal things in storage. I figured that it didn’t do us any good to store all the stuff that we weren’t using, because then it was still taking up our space. So some of it got sold, but the majority of it got donated.

  3. Jeanne Says:

    Thanks for posting this! I agree with both Holly and Leslie. We’ve moved too many times and it’s really showing me the value of “traveling light.” I think we’re all getting a little overwhelmed with “stuff.”

  4. kristy Stafford Says:

    Stacy

    I love your work and your ideas.
    Do you ever share with your readers where you get your fabric?
    Can you recommend wholesale fabric sources. I have been looking into some overseas. I would really appreciate your feedback.

    Thanks
    Kristy

  5. Stacy T Says:

    Kristy- Most of my fabrics I buy by the bolt from michael Miller, Checker Distributing, Baum Textiles. Then I sell off what I have left over 😉

    Stacy

Leave a Reply

