Flip n’ What?? :)

I cant tell you how excited I was to hear and see about this method of scrappy quilting called Flip & Sew.   Kinda like paper piecing but without all the work.   This is a great way to get rid of scraps of ALL sizes without tedious cutting of pieces into a pattern.  Such a great quilting method for those that like to creatively “wing-it”.   My friend, Darla, came by today and showed me her block and told me about this method and I had to try it for myself before I could sleep tonight.

You can google it and find several how to’s online if you wanna try it.  Here is my first 12″ block. 

Think I will do 9 blocks and then border them with a cream/ivory solid and then free form quilt them.  So pretty!! 

OK- gotta head to bed now, but just couldnt settle my brain until I tried it!  I have a love/hate relationship with my creative juices 🙂

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Flip n’ What?? :)”

  1. Krista Says:

    Just gorgeous! Makes me a little dizzy – but in a good way 🙂

  2. Jennifer Burgess Says:

    ooo I like this, its really neat. I have a bunch of scraps after making quilts for my friends twin baby girls. I might have to give this a try too.

  3. Annette Says:

    When I was a kid, my neighbor made all kinds of quilts. Since I didn’t have the patience to cut out all the pieces, I just cut out different scraps from material my mom had and sew it together however it would fit. I never finished the quilt, but it looked similar. I didn’t realize there was a name for that type of quilt! LOL! I love the color combination. Very pretty!!!

  4. “Not your Grandmas Knee Patches” Tutorial « Patchyapple Says:

    […] of the knees.  My creative juices were flowing on this while I was piecing together the “Sew n’ Flip” quilt blocks I blogged about last […]

  5. Rebecca Says:

    I LOVE THIS! I’m going to have to try it for my new little girl’s room. Thanks for linking this up and letting me see it!!

Leave a comment